The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS sets standard for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. It is an integrated approach to learning and care and gives all early years professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

In the nursery schools and crèches our guiding principles are:

  • that children are active learners,
  • that learning is social and collaborative
  • that the role of the adult is crucial

We work hard to construct opportunities for your children to learn through the provision of an engaging, interesting and challenging environment that caters for all their learning needs as exemplified within the Early Years Foundation Stage. We work with your children to encourage conversational skills and deepen their knowledge and understanding of the world they live in.

In order to inform our understanding of child development through the early years of a child’s life the curriculum is divided into Prime Areas and Specific Areas.

The Prime Areas include the foundations for all learning

The Prime areas are time-sensitive and are the building blocks of all future learning. If these basic skills are not securely in place by the age of five they will be more difficult to acquire and their absence may hold back the child’s learning in other areas.

The Specific Areas
Specific areas are less time-sensitive ~ they reflect cultural knowledge and accumulated understanding. It is possible to acquire these bodies of knowledge at various stages through life. The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage: The Government’s ‘Early Years Outcomes’ document, which contains a detailed breakdown of typical behaviour throughout the early years.
Brent Specialist Centre Early Years Foundation Stage